User Management

Introduction

CloudCheckr customers have full control over provisioning and managing user access within their account(s). User access can be configured with specific permissions, rights, and visibility based on the needs and role of the user.

Note: Users can also be managed using the Admin-Level API. For more information, please see the Admin API Reference Guide.

This guide will explain the following concepts:

 

Creating New Users

  1. Click on the Settings button at the top of your screen, then click on Partner/Account > Users. The Users screen appears.
  2. Click on +New User. The New User screen appears.
  3. Enter an email address for the new user in the Email box.
  4. Select a Role for the new user.
  5. From within the Granted Access section, choose either Group Permissions or User Permissions for your user.
  6. Click Create to finish.

 

Editing Users

  1. Click on the Settings button at the top of your screen, then click on Partner/Account > Users. The Users screen appears.
  2. Click on a user’s checkbox and click on Edit Selected User. The Edit Users screen appears.
  3. Modify the user’s permissions and/or role. Click Update to finish.

NOTE: User deletion cannot be reversed. If you need to grant access to a user that was deleted you will need to create a new user.

 

User Roles

You can choose between one of the following three role types in CloudCheckr:

  • Basic User
  • User
  • Administrator

What actions can and cannot each Role perform?

Basic User

Can…

  • Configure email settings
  • Create and edit Saved Filters
  • Create and edit Alerts
  • See and use API keys
  • Use Automation
  • Create and edit Custom Inventory Reports
  • Use Fix Now functionality in Best Practice Checks
  • Create and edit Dashboards

Cannot…

  • Add Projects
  • Configure Projects
  • Delete Projects
  • Create and edit users
  • Modify Cost Usage Report settings
  • Modify Account-Level Tags
  • Modify Service Limits
  • Edit EC2 Tags For Dashboard
  • Manage Integrations

 

User

Can…

  • Configure email settings
  • Create and edit Saved Filters
  • Create and edit Alerts
  • See and use API keys
  • Use Automation
  • Create and edit Custom Inventory Reports
  • Use Fix Now functionality in Best Practice Checks
  • Create and edit Dashboards
  • Add Projects
  • Configure Projects
  • Delete Projects

Cannot…

  • Create and edit users
  • Modify Cost Usage Report settings
  • Modify Account-Level Tags
  • Modify Service Limits
  • Edit EC2 Tags For Dashboard
  • Manage Integrations

 

Administrator

Administrators can perform all actions in CloudCheckr.

 

 

User Permissions

Assign User Permissions for access to specific accounts and reports. These assignments only affect the user you are configuring.

  • Access – choose whether the user can access this account. This option grants them access to all non-Cost reports. NOTE: If the user has “User” access they will be able to delete this account.
  • Savings – choose whether the user can access the Cost Savings report.
  • Best Practices – choose whether the user can access the 500+ Best Practice checks.
  • Alerts – choose whether the user can access Alerts.
  • Cost Reports – choose whether the user can access all reports under the Cost menu.
  • Resource Utilization Reports – choose whether the user can access all reports under the Utilization menu.
  • Inventory – choose whether the user can access all reports under the Inventory menu.
  • Security – choose whether the user can access all reports under the Security menu.
  • Automation – choose whether the user can access all reports under the Automation menu.
  • Edit Emails – choose whether the user can edit notification emails located at Account Settings > Email Settings.
  • Blended Costs – choose whether you want the user to see Blended cost in Cost reports.
  • Unblended Costs – choose whether you want the user to see Unblended cost in Cost reports.
  • List Costs – select this option if you would like the user to see List cost in Cost reports.
  • Trending Reports – choose whether you want the user to see Trending Reports, located under the Inventory menu.
  • Change Monitoring – choose whether you want the user to see the Change Monitoring report, located under the Security menu.
  • Account Notification – choose whether you want the user to see the Account Notification icon, detailing missing permissions.
  • See Partner Tools – choose whether you want the user to see Partner Tools, under the Cost menu.
  • Edit Partner Tools – choose whether you want the user to edit any items in Partner Tools.
  • See API Keys – choose whether you want the user to see the API key menu.
  • Retail Costs – choose whether you want the user to see Retail Costs.
  • Standard Costs – choose whether you want the user to see Standard Costs.

 

You can click the Full Access checkbox to quickly provide full access to all reports across all accounts.

Note: If the customer can see Blended/Unblended costs, they will be able to see any cost modifications due to cost configurations in the AWS Partner Tools compared to what AWS billed the reseller/MSP.

Click Create or Update to add permissions to the user.

 

User Groups

As an alternative to User Permissions, CloudCheckr allows you to create User Groups to manage users and permissions at the group level. User Groups make managing permissions easier, especially for customers with hundreds or thousands of users.

For a detailed explanation, see the User Groups page.

 

Payee List Cost (AWS)

When thinking about user management from the most common perspective, you are able to give your end users access to specific accounts and cost types (Unblended/Blended/List) within CloudCheckr. You can even limit access to certain parts of the application. Note: This applies to AWS accounts only.

At a certain point you may want to limit users to only see List Cost. List Cost shows them what their AWS account would have cost stand-alone and factors out RI utilization a single payee should not receive. However, simply changing the permissions when you first grant access to your users is not enough because some features such as emails and cost alerts will not be affected.

Go to the Payee List Cost page for an easy explanation of how to enable this feature.

Leave a Reply